BEFORE THE TAX APPEAL BOARD
OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

QUAN C. NGUYEN and HAO T. NGUYEN,
Petitioners,

)
)
)
)
V. ) Docket No. 1783
)
DIRECTOR OF REVENUE, )

)

)

Respondent.
BEFORE: Todd C. Schiltz, Esq., Steven R. Director, Esq., Joan Winters, CPA,
Robert Slavin and M. Lynn Fuller
Quan C. Nguyen and Hao T. Nguyen, pro se
Anthony J. Testa, Jr., Esq., Deputy Attorney General, for Respondent
DECISION AND ORDER
Petitioners Quan C. Nguyen and Hao T. Nguyen (collectively, “Petitioners”)
are Delaware residents who seek an abatement of a $2,282.40 penalty arising from
Petitioners’ failure to pay the proper amount of estimated income taxes for 2019.
The parties have prepared a Stipulation of Facts and submitted final briefing in
support of their positions. This is the Board’s final decision in this matter.
For the reasons set forth below, the Board determines that Petitioners have not
identified any basis to abate the $2,282.40 penalty. Judgment is entered against the

Petitioners and in favor of the Director of Revenue (“Respondent”).
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STATUTORY FRAMEWORK

For many individual Delaware taxpayers, their employer deducts and
withholds their state income taxes. See 30 Del. C. §1151 (every employer paying
wages must deduct and withhold the income taxes each employee owes Delaware).
Other individual taxpayers (e.g., the self-employed, partners in professional
practices) must pay quarterly estimated income taxes to Delaware. With respect to
this latter group, 30 Del. C. §1169(a) provides that they:

... shall make a declaration of estimated tax for the taxable year in
such form as the Director of Revenue may prescribe, if the estimated
tax can reasonably be expected to exceed $800. ....

Delaware estimated income taxes must be paid “on or before the dates
prescribed by the laws of the United States ... except that [the Director of Revenue]
may establish other dates for ... payment of estimated tax.” 30 Del. C. §1170(a).
For 2019, the Director of Revenue issued a directive that estimated taxes had to be
paid on April 30,2019, June 15, 2019, September 15, 2019 and January 15, 2020.!

If an individual taxpayer fails to pay any portion of estimated taxes that are
due, “such individual shall be deemed to have made an underpayment of estimated
tax, and there shall be added to that tax an amount equal to 1% percent per month,

or fraction thereof, of the amount of such underpayment for the period of the

underpayment.” 30 Del. C. §535(b).

I See https://revenuefiles.delaware.gov/2019/TY 19 200ESi.pdf.
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With regard to the abatement of the 1% percent per month penalty, 30 Del.
C. §538(a) provides:
The Director is authorized to abate the unpaid portion of the assessment
of any tax, interest, penalty, additional amount or addition to the tax, or
any liability in respect thereof, which is:

(1) Excessive in amount;

(2) Assessed after the expiration of the period of limitations properly
applicable thereto; or

(3) Erroneously or illegally assessed.?
STATEMENT OF FACTS
Petitioners were residents of Delaware in 2019 and filed Delaware income tax
returns for that year. In 2019, Petitioners (or their agents) made the following

estimated income tax payments to Delaware:

April 30, 2019: $125
June 15, 2019: $125
June 17, 2019: $5,000
September 15, 2019: $125
September 17,2019: $5,000
January 15, 2020: $125

2 Petitioners' cite 30 Del. C. §534(b)(1) and its “reasonable cause” and absence of
“wilful (sic) neglect” language to argue that any penalty can be abated if they meet
these standards. The Board disagrees. By its express terms, Section 534(b)(1)
imposes additional penalties when a taxpayer fails to pay the amount that is due and
owing on a tax return (unless the failure is “due to reasonable cause and not due to
wilful (sic) neglect”). This case does not concern the failure to pay taxes shown to
be due on a return. It concerns the failure to pay estimated taxes, the penalty arising
from such a failure, and when such penalty can be abated.
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Petitioners were also entitled to a credit toward their 2019 income taxes due to an
overpayment of their 2018 income taxes. After the Petitioners added together their
estimated income tax payments and their overpayment credit, they determined that
they had underpaid their 2019 estimated taxes. Petitioners computed and paid a self-
assessed estimated tax underpayment penalty of $1,348 for 2019.3

The Division of Revenue reviewed Petitioners’ estimated payments and
credits and determined that Petitioners owed an additional estimated tax
underpayment penalty of $2,282.40. The Division of Revenue sent Petitioners a
notice of assessment regarding this additional penalty. Petitioners appealed the
notice of assessment and on August 6, 2021, Respondent issued a Notice of
Determination denying that appeal. Petitioners then appealed to the Board.

Before the Board, Petitioners argued that the additional penalty should be
abated because (i) Petitioners’ primary source of income is from an ear, nose and
throat medical practice and the COVID-19 pandemic impacted their ability to
calculate and pay proper estimated taxes, and (ii) they have always paid their
estimated taxes on time and overpaid taxes at times. Notably, none of the facts on
which Petitioners rely in support of abatement are included in the Stipulation of

Facts that forms the record before the Board.

3 Petitioners do not seek the return of this self-accessed penalty.
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ANALYSIS

Petitioners do not dispute that they underpaid their estimated taxes in 2019.
They also do not dispute the Division of Revenue’s calculation of the underpayment
penalty. The only issue before the Board is whether the Respondent erred by not
abating the $2,282.40 additional penalty arising from Petitioners’ underpayment of
estimated taxes.

As set forth above, a penalty can be abated if it is excessive in amount, was
assessed after the passing of the limitations period or is illegal or erroneous. 30 Del.
C. §538(a). Petitioners have not argued that any of these conditions have been
satisfied. None have and the penalty is not subject to abatement under Section
538(a).

Even if the Board could consider the outside-the-record facts on which
Petitioners rely and even if the Board applied the inapplicable “reasonable cause”
language in Section 534 of the Delaware tax code, the Board would reach the same
conclusion. Petitioners’ contention that the COVID-19 pandemic impacted their
ability to calculate their 2019 estimated tax payments is disingenuous given that the
pandemic began in March 2020, weeks after January 15, 2020, the date the last of
Petitioners’ 2019 estimated tax payments was due. As to the contention that
Petitioners previously paid their taxes on time, any such practice is not a “reasonable

cause” for them to underpay estimated taxes in 2019. Taxpayers are required to pay
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their taxes on time and any past compliance by Petitioners does not excuse non-

compliance in 2019,

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the Board upholds the Notice of Determination and

judgment is entered in favor of Respondent.
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SO ORDERED this (9™  dayof_ Seploader 2022
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